Keisha-Jayd interview

Keisha-Jayd is a new R’n’B talent from the Midlands… check out this interview we did with her… 
 
Tell us a little bit about yourself and what you have released?
My names Keisha-Jayd, I’m mixed race, which I love! I’m 19 years old and from Walsall in the West Midlands, and I currently study Criminal Investigation at Birmingham City University. But I have a very big passion for music, which I have always had from an early age that continues to grow! There’s a music lyric I love because it explains exactly how I feel about music, it is ‘Music’s where my heart is I’m alive for it’. I haven’t released any songs yet, I’m currently working on releasing my first song ‘Tell Me Who’ which features an up and coming artist S-Man.
 
A lot of independent artist’s now run their own labels. Do you think this is the way forward? Or do you hope one day to get signed to a major or another label?
I definitely think being signed up to a label helps you more musically wise as you have people that have more knowledge about music and can help you get the exposure you need to become a well known artist. Currently I’m signed to Chillout Productions and I’m really happy with what they do for me, and together we’re working on getting me where I want to be music wise.
 
Formats of music are changing all the time, but we asked you ‘CD or MP3’ which would you say is better and why?
Well CD’s are good for the car, but then again you can plug MP3 players into cars now so maybe MP3 is becoming the best, but I think CD’s still hold the top spot because you can’t walk into a music shop and not expect to see any CD’s! CD’s are something to keep, and have all the great pictures and graphics on!
 
Apart from the genre of music that you make what else do you listen to?
 I actually listen to a bit of everything to be honest. Like my iPod is so random! It can go from a really deep grime tune to country music or cheesy pop songs or rap! I like a bit of everything, it’s good to mix and match right?

Is there any music that you hate and just can’t listen too?
I don’t hate any music, because it’s something people love and the artists work hard at creating. But I don’t really listen to any opera music, that’s kind of not me haha! 
 
If there was a position of power that was ‘world leader’ and you was chose as the person to fill that position, what laws or things would you change and why?
Erm….this is a really hard one to answer, I don’t actually know! I think I’d go a little power mad!
 
People are saying that live shows are the way forward for acts to earn money, but then we hear its hard to get bookings? What’s your take on this?
I think it all depends on the approach you take. I don’t really look at music as a money making scheme, I do it because I love it and I honestly couldn’t imagine my life without it! Sounds stupid but I really am passionate about music!

Who is or was the best musician in the world and why?
I don’t think you can rule any artist out because each one brings something different to the music industry, but I don’t think we’ll ever get anyone like Michael Jackson again! He was amazing and brought so much to the music world! 
 
So what does the future hold for you?
Hopefully if things go right for me, you’ll be hearing a lot more from me music wise! I know I have a lot more to give, I just hope I get the chance to make it somewhere and get to share it with everyone.
 
Give us all your relevant internet links!

Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/KeishaJayd
Facebook: http://en-gb.facebook.com/people/Keisha-Jayd/1611605478
Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/KeishaJayd

 

Leave a Reply

