Dj Green Khaki interview

Dj Green Khaki interview

Tell us a little bit about yourself and what you have released?
My name is Dj Green Khaki my real name is Jason Kellman-Smith.  I have released an Ep called the Green Khaki Ep, It comprises five tunes, four would fall under the umbrella of house music but for effect there is also included a grime/rap tune.  I would describe my release as “something that adds real quality to the house beat.”

A lot of independent artist’s now run their own labels. Do you think this is the way forward? Or do you hope one day to get signed to a major or another label?
I had the opportunity to release The Green Khaki Ep on my own label which is called Green Khaki’s, which is most probably less pressurised.  My own aim is to be successful enough to keep moving forward whatever that step may be.

Formats of music are changing all the time, but we asked you ‘CD or MP3’ which would you say is better and why?
My Ep is available for download on MP3 etc. but I would like to see myself selling loads and loads of CDs.  I am going to say CDs because you have an immediate hard copy of the music; MP3s have to be copied from folder to folder, can be accidentally deleted and are sometimes difficult to locate.

Apart from the genre of music that you make what else do you listen to?
I do listen to quite a bit of rap for example to artists like, Nipsey Hussle, Lil Wayne, and Mack Maine.  A rap song which has been one of my favourites for a long time is Ride Wid Da Mack by Mack Maine which actually does feature Lil Wayne.

Is there any music that you hate and just can’t listen too?
I do not like Jazz music, I like Blues, but not Jazz!

If there was a position of power that was ‘world leader’ and you was chose as the person to fill that position, what laws or things would you change and why?
I would love there to be a sense of interconnectedness throughout the world by transport.  I would like there to be a feeling that you could be linked to all continents by several modes of travel at many points of the globe.

People are saying that live shows are the way forward for acts to earn money, but then we hear its hard to get bookings? What’s your take on this?
I think live shows are a good form of income, they are certainly part of the dream of becoming a musician.

Who is or was the best musician in the world and why?
I think I will always remember Michael Jackson for the tremendous success of his album launches and tours when I was young.

So what does the future hold for you?
I want to raise the profile of both myself and my Ep, keep learning and grab some success! 

Give us all your relevant internet links!
http://www.myspace.com/djgreenkhaki
http://www.tempoplus.com/profile/Dj_Green_Khaki
http://www.djtunes.com/dj-green-khaki
http://itunes.apple.com/gb/artist/dj-green-khaki/id423491982#
http://www.vinyl-distribution.co.uk/Download-Dj-Green-Khaki-The-Green-Khaki-Ep/ex/s~details,u~10025623,p1~mp3/xe/details.html
 

 

Leave a Reply

