KNOWLEDGE GIVING BIRTH Label profile

We caught up with label CEO ‘Rediculus’ to get the low down on his label…

What is the name of your record label?
Peace man, what’s good?! My label is called Knowledge Giving Birth Productions.  I named it after an old phrase I heard once that says “Knowledge gives birth to wisdom and understanding”

When was it founded?
I came up with the name back in 1997 when I decided that music was what I wanted to do as a career.

What was the main reason for starting the label?
Producers back then didn’t get signed as artists so I needed a vehicle to get my music out through. I’m a bit of a control freak so I need to be in charge so I figured I’d just start my own company.  It didn’t start out as a record label, it was just going to be a production company and I was going to sell artists off, but that process proved more difficult then I first thought, so I decided to just put my own music out.

Who runs the label?
I pretty much run the label on my own. I have lots of people who I work with, like my promotions teams Park Street and IStandard, but as of now the staff on payroll is just me. 

Where is the label based?
We’re in Chicago, Illinois.

How would you describe the music that you release?
Good quality hip hop. You’re not going to hear much commercial hip hop coming out of us, even our “radio” tracks are steeped in soul samples and crunchy drums.  I guess a good way to describe it is Boom Bap for the future.

Tell us who is on the artist roster.
Right now I have Pair-a-Dyce, a super smooth MC out of Houston who is just lyrically amazing; Big Dutty Deeze out of the UK who is more aggressive and will definitely take over the streets; Rich Malone, who gets described a lot as the “rapper you can take home to Mom” he’s lyrically dope and has an amazing story telling capacity; Kayser9soze from NYC who is an all-around mic beast and hits up the party joints for the ladies and Prome who is just a beast. Anything I put in front of him he bodies and always comes with angles I didn’t think of. 

I also do distribution for people, and am distributing an artist out of Boston Mass. named Gage from Click Animosity. DJ Extremidiz and he have a project that is about to drop with a dope single floating around the Internet right now that is blazing every speaker it touches.

What artists have featured on the label that aren’t on the roster?
On my new album coming out September 20, 2011 named Masters of Conversation: Punchlines and Parables I have a ton of artists.  Ruste Juxx is on 2 tracks, Craig G, Koncept and The Audible Doctor from Brown Bag All Stars, Nine, Shabaam Sahdeeq and Red Eye, Stumik Icewater, Sha Stimuli, Emilio Rojas, Sadat X, man tons of people blessed me with verses for this joint, I’m very excited for it, keep an eye out for the single Halo (Pain is Love) featuring Prome dropping this week and the album on 9/20/2011 on ITunes globally.

Do you have a label discography?
Masters of Conversation: Friends and Family 2000
Masters of Conversation: First Wordz Spoken – 2009
Masters of Conversation: ReVerb – 2010
Rediculus: Walking Down Broken Paths (instrumental album) – 2011
Pair-a-Dyce: The Portal EP – 2011
Rich Malone: The Wonder Years EP – 2011

What has been your most successful release to date?
Both ReVerb and Walking Down Broken Paths did better then I’d expected so I’m very excited for that.  I’m really looking forward to what this new Masters of Conversation album can do, it’s the most high profile one to date for sure.

Who distributes the label?
We’re digitally distributed by Island/Def Jam

What are your future releases?
Masters of Conversation: Punclines and Parables  is dropping September 20, 2011 and we have upcoming projects from everyone on the label by Spring 2012

Do you a shop on on-line?
I have a website – www.knowledgegivingbirth.com which has all the relevant links, I’ll be redoing that later this year and have a much slicker shopping portal for it.

Can we get your record label website and social networking sites please?
http://www.twitter.com/#!/Rediculus
http://www.knowledgegivingbirth.com
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rediculus-Beats/71790667327

Thanks for taking the time to talk to me today!

Questions by David Wellar

 

Leave a Reply

