Gage The Conqueror Interview

First off we just want to say thanks for taking the time out to do this interview for us at Monsta Musik.

Tell us a little bit about yourself and what you have released?

Peace! I’m known as Gage , Gage-One or Gage The Conqueror from Boston based Hip Hop crew Click Animosity. I have released a few projects to date IE my 2009 project Dead Angel / The Gospel Featuring The Holocaust aka Warcloud from WU-Tang Killa Beez , Ripshop , Deewuallah & of course Click Animosity. We then released our 1st group album Click Animosity- Feeders Of The Flamez ft. Shabazz The Dsiciple , Lord Superb , Wisemen , Tragic Allies , Abeo Rzo , Slim Pickens , Dee Black , Ripshop , Cool Gzus  (Made Men) , Insight , Dagha , T-Ruckus etc. Soon after we released a free follow up Ep called Click Animosity-Charred Remnants which also Featured Shabazz The Disciple , Holocaust , Tragic Allies , Holocaust , Ripshop etc. Now I’m back solo for the moment while Click Animosity works on their solo efforts so my new solo album is the long awaited The Desolate Lands project which I just dropped digitally on itunes , Amazon etc via Island Def Jam & on cd etc through Metal Barz Records which is our usual label via the homie DJ Extremidiz. This album has been a long time coming. A lot of dope production & features from my crew , Holocaust , Tragic Allies  , Ripshop , Rasul Allah (Lost Children of Babylon) the homie Reverend Kane (aka GI.45 aka Hoppie X-Ray) and many more!

A lot of independent artist’s now run their own labels. Do you think this is the way forward? Or do you hope one day to get signed to a major or another label?

Find a balance in these days & times. I work with both even for 1 project. Labels are notorious for screwing over the talent so I can dig the indie state of mind. It’s more about distribution then a label honestly. Everyone has a so called label but without distro , promo and a proper buzz many fall by the wayside weather immensely talented or straight up trash.

Formats of music are changing all the time, but we asked you ‘CD or MP3’ which would you say is better and why?

I say it’s a draw at this point. Personally MP3’s are convenient but Compact Discs are an actual product for you to hold and cherish especially when / if one’s hard drive crashes lol.

Are you releasing your music on CD or MP3 and how are you finding the different formats?

I’m releasing projects consistently on both formats. They sell equally well from my experience.

Apart from the genre of music that you make what else do you listen to?

I like Jazz , Soul , Blues , Funk, Rock etc.

Is there any music that you hate and just can’t listen too?

Yeah I hate any music that isn’t well thought out or real. So I find myself listening to less & less rap music lately.

So let’s talk about how people can support you. Do you have music out there people can buy?

Search iTunes for Gage One or Click Animosity or go to Ughh.com. Those are the 2 main places I deal with for cd vs mp3

Do you have any merchandise for sale yet, or do you do anything in the industry that you want to talk about?

Yeah I mentioned all of our projects to date in the 1st question so def support those on iTunes etc.

You can check me out on Hell Razah aka Heaven Razah’s next project Heaven Razah 2 view the track on Allhiphop.com the song is called “God’s Gift”. You may have heard of Hell Razah from his old crews Sunz Of Man and many projects from Wu Tang that have been released over the years.

If there was a position of power that was ‘world leader’ and you was chose as the person to fill that position, what laws or things would you change and why?

I would seek out & destroy all secret societies behind the scenes secretly running shit and plotting on the destruction of the world if not for the obvious reason also so rappers would shut up about it like this is new or unknown information lol. Then I would do my best to feed & protect every last child on Earth.

People are saying that live shows are the way forward for acts to earn money, but then we hear it’s hard to get bookings? What’s your take on this?

It’s easy to get booked but they always want you to either sell tickets or you owe the promoter (pffft) or they expect you just to come up off of your merch. I do shows when I want out of the blue because I love Hip Hop and feel live shows are a good format for releasing negative energy.

Who is or was the best musician in the world and why?

I Have to say to date Jay Z regardless of popular opinion is  a genius although I’m more inclined to listen to new Nas or Wu.

So what does the future hold for you?

Greatness. Weather through my music, or just simply by existing. I’m a very blessed man with a lot of love in my life.

Once again thanks for your time. Anyone you want to shout out or anything you want to add before you go? Yeah Peace to you! Peace to Click Animosity , my family and all artists who worked with me especially DJ Extremidiz & Rediculus at KGB

Okay please give us all your relevant internet links so people can connect with you. 

http://metalbarz.com/
https://www.facebook.com/#!/gage.clickanimosity
http://twitter.com/#!/GageAnimosity
Clickanimositybiz@gmail.com

Interview by David Wellar

 

Leave a Reply

