B-Cide Interview with D. Wellar

First off we just want to say thanks for taking the time out to do this interview for us at Monsta Musik.

Tell us a little bit about yourself and what you have released?
MY name is B-CIDE, I’m from NY, Upstate NY, not NYC. It’s a real different vibe here, so my style is nothing like what you would think of a NY rapper. I have released a shit load of music over the years, but I”m currently promoting my newest release, PE (pulmonary Embolism). The titled comes from a real life Pulmonary Embolism (A blood clot in the lungs). It was some serious shit and I almost lost my life from it.

A lot of independent artist’s now run their own labels. Do you think this is the way forward? Or do you hope one day to get signed to a major or another label?
Honestly, FUCK THE MAJORS! They ain’t doin shit but releasing this poppy rap bullshit. Me I’d only fuck with what I like to call an Independent Major, which would be something like Strange Music, which is Tech N9ne’s record label. They are nothing like the majors in terms of fucking up careers. but they have the major distribution channels along with promotion that a real artist needs, not to mention touring, which most major labels don’t give a fuck about.

Formats of music are changing all the time, but we asked you ‘CD or MP3’ which would you say is better and why?
I’m a big fan of CD’s, there is just something about buying something tangible with artwork and the whole nine. That’s just my opinion though, some people only fuck with MP3’s, which is fine. I can’t say I think one is better than the other, they are both good in their own right.

Are you releasing your music on CD or MP3 and how are you finding the different formats?
I release my music on both CD and MP3. I like both formats the same.

Apart from the genre of music that you make what else do you listen to?
I’ll listen to anything if it’s good. I’m actually a big fan of Green Day which might sound weird to rap fans, but they inspire me, it’s real kick ass music you can bob your head to, I’ve seen them in concert numerous times and will continue to do so. I even have tickets to the musical they wrote for the 22nd of this month.

Is there any music that you hate and just can’t listen too?
I’m not big on country, nothing really against it, just could never get into it.

So let’s talk about how people can support you. Do you have music out there people can buy?
Yes, all my music is on sale at my official web store at http://www.eastsideproductionsmusic.com or on iTunes at http://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/b-cide/id127689872?ign-mpt=uo%3D4

Do you have any merchandise for sale yet, or do you do anything in the industry that you want to talk about?
I have t-shirts, posters, stickers, and CDs for sale on my official web store at http://www.eastsideproductionsmusic.com it’s better to buy direct from the artist than anything, we accept PayPal and autograph CDs with orders and even include some extras.

If there was a position of power that was ‘world leader’ and you was chose as the person to fill that position, what laws or things would you change and why?
I would fire all police who harass citizens and do not uphold the law themselves. WEED WOULD BE LEGAL! America would be debt free. I’d get all our troops back home safe to their families. The US would just be a better place to live. Fuck all these dumb ass politicians who don’t know what it’s like to live in “the real world”

People are saying that live shows are the way forward for acts to earn money, but then we hear it’s hard to get bookings? What’s your take on this?
With rap music, it’s kinda hard to get bookings unless you have a good fan base to support your act. Not to mention rap music has this awful stigma attached to it, too many people don’t know how to have a good time without fucking shit up, I think there are more publicized fights with rap music than any other genre of music. Let’s face facts, when a massive group of people get together there is bound to be some kind of fight, but rap music takes the brunt of it. I even have a song on my new album which talks about it called “You Can Really Do It”

Who is or was the best musician in the world and why?
Best rapper in world is hands down TECH N9NE! No one can fuck with this dude, he’s the illiest rapper i’ve heard. His stage show will murder anyone in the game, his flow is fuckin insane, and his image is crazy. You couldn’t ask for a better package than that. Tech if your reading this, get at me, we could do some amazing things. As far as other music goes, I give all the props in the world to Green Day, that is truly a story of coming from playing shitty clubs to playing arenas and even having a Broadway Musical. Those guys are the shit. One day I wanna do a track with them.

So what does the future hold for you?
Things are only getting bigger and better, the only place left to go is up.

Once again thanks for your time. Anyone you want to shout out or anything you want to add before you go?
I wanna shout out all my fans and supporters, I’d also like to thank y’all for doing this interview. FREE GA and JAC D

Okay please give us all your relevant internet links so people can connect with you.
www.b-cide.com
www.eastsideproductionsmusic.com
www.facebook.com/bcide
www.twitter.com/bcide
www.youtube.com/bcide

Interview by David Wellar

Leave a Reply

